The law requires that you carry auto insurance in Florida. By making it a legal requirement, the hope is that the majority of drivers will have insurance, which helps to reduce the number of lawsuits and issues that stem from auto accidents.
According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, all vehicles with at least four wheels must have insurance coverage prior to registration.
The state requires you to carry property damage liability and person injury protection coverage. Property damage liability will pay for any damages you do to another vehicle, structure or other objects in an accident that is your fault. Personal injury protection will cover medical expenses resulting from an accident.
You must ensure your policy comes from an insurer who has a license to provide insurance in the state of Florida. You may also register a self-insurance certificate, which states you have the means to pay for damages and medical care up to the limits the state requires.
The law states that you must have at least $10,000 in property damage coverage. You also need coverage for up to $10,000 for personal injury protection, and your insurance policy must cover 80 percent of medical expenses.
Insurance for other vehicles
There are some special requirements for vehicles other than passenger vehicles. For example, a taxi must also carry bodily injury coverage. The limits must be $250,000 per accident and $125,000 per person.
If you fail to carry proper insurance, the state can suspend your registration for up to three years. You cannot get your registration back for any reason during the suspension. You may also face fees and license suspension.